Georgia DUI Attorneys
The consequences you could face for being convicted of a criminal offense in the Georgia are widespread, and many of them are particularly harsh. If you have been arrested in the state of Georgia and you are now facing the criminal justice system, you can’t afford to go undefended. It is only when you are represented by a skilled DUI defense attorney in the field that you will stand a chance of effectively challenging the criminal charges for which you have been accused. Contacting Georgia Trial Attorneys will effectively get the process underway and help you embark on the road to legal justice. When you are looking to escape the harsh reality of the penalties you could potentially be facing as a convicted resident of Norcross, Georgia, you need to act fast and contact our firm today.
We work to build a strong relationship with our clients because we care about your future. Our clients make us who we are. When you’re in need, we are there. We are committed to defending you during the entire process. At our firm, our DUI attorneys strive to always be approachable, responsive, efficient, and effective. Our lawyers maintain flexible office hours, respond promptly to telephone calls, and keep clients personally informed of the status of their case. Georgia Trial Attorneys serves the entire State of Georgia, especially the metro Atlanta area. And we serve every one of our clients as if he or she were our only client, stressing tailored representation and direct communication.
DUI Fact: A fourth DUI conviction within ten years is treated as a felony in the State of Georgia. The maximum penalty for a fourth conviction within ten years is five years in jail and a $5,000 fine plus court costs and fees. The minimum penalty for a fourth DUI conviction within ten years is one year in jail, with the possibility of all but ninety days being probated, as well as a $1,000 fine plus court costs and fees. Other mandatory requirements are 480 hours of community service, DUI Risk/Reduction driving school, a clinical substance abuse evaluation with any recommend treatment, and up to five years of probation.
We Offer DUI (Driving Under the Influence) Defense
DUI means that a person is driving under the influence. There are six different kinds of DUIs in the State of Georgia – two involving alcohol, three involving drugs and one involving inhalants.
Remember that you are innocent until proven guilty. To be found guilty, the prosecution must convince every juror beyond a reasonable doubt that: (1) you were in the county of offense; (2) you were in actual physical control of a moving vehicle; and (3) you were under the influence of alcohol, drugs or an inhalant.
You could win your case with a skilled DUI Attorney who knows how to show jurors there is doubt, such as:
No probable cause for arrest;
Your Miranda rights were violated;
Faulty testing equipment;
A refusal is not indicative of guilt; and
Every case is unique, and a skilled Attorney can find these defenses and advocate convincingly to a judge or jury on your behalf.
If you have been arrested for a DUI, Georgia Trial Attorneys knows how to defend you under the State of Georgia’s DUI Laws, but only if you contact our firm before your case goes to trial.
DUI Per Se – Driving with an Unlawful Alcohol Concentration
Driving with an unlawful alcohol concentration (“DUI Per Se”) does not require proof of impairment, as with a DUI Less Safe. The prosecution must show that a person was driving a motor vehicle within the State and had an alcohol concentration above one of the three limits for Georgia:
- A blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or more;
- A BAC of 0.04 or more if you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL); or
- A BAC of 0.02 or more if you were under the age of 21 at the time of arrest.
But the reality is, DUI tests and their results are not indisputable. An experienced DUI Attorney knows how to show a judge and a jury that the State’s DUI tests are capable of providing skewed results – something as simple as a little burp can void the entire test and its result.
If you have been arrested for DUI Per Se, Georgia Trial Attorneys knows how to preserve your rights under the State of Georgia’s DUI Laws, but only if you contact our firm before your case goes to trial.
DUI Less Safe
You can be charged with a DUI Less Safe if you are over the age of 21 and have a blood alcohol content less than 0.08. A “less-safe” DUI is where an individual is determined to be less safe to drive due to the consumption of drugs and/or alcohol before or while driving. The prosecution will seek to prove the “less safe” DUI through (1) direct evidence of impaired driving and motor functions, and (2) circumstantial evidence of impairment (i.e., odor of alcohol, flushed face, bloodshot eyes, slurred speech, unsteadiness, staggered walk, field sobriety evaluations and portable breath test results).
Georgia Trial Attorneys knows how to preserve your rights under the State of Georgia’s DUI Laws, but only if you contact our firm 678-667-8968 before your case goes to trial.
30 Day Rule – Administrative License Suspensions (ALS) Hearings
If you have been arrested on an officer’s suspicion that you were driving under the influence, you have three (3) important options to choose from, as of a recent change in Georgia law on July 1, 2017. Your notification of these options was the yellow piece of paper the arresting officer handed you (Form DS-1205).
- Do Nothing. Your Georgia driver’s license will be suspended on the 46th day after your arrest. The Form DS-1205 is a temporary driving permit and notice of intent to administratively suspend your driver’s license on the 46th day after your arrest for a Georgia DUI. You must select option two (2) or option three (3) to have any chance keeping your Georgia driver’s license;
- Appeal The Administrative Suspension. Before the thirtieth (30th) day after your DUI arrest, you must file an appeal with the Georgia Department of Driver Services. Your written appeal and the $150.00 appeal costs must be delivered on or before the thirtieth (30th) day after your arrest. While your appeal is pending, the Form DS-1205 is a temporary driving permit.
- Install An Ignition Interlock Device (IID). A new option exists for some drivers who refused to submit to the state requested test of your blood, breath, urine or other bodily substances. A driver who refuses to submit to the requested test, can choose to install an ignition interlock device in their car for twelve (12) months. A limited permit, called the IIDLP, has many benefits and drawbacks that must be discussed. However, this option must be selected on or before the thirtieth (30th) day after your arrest.
Georgia officers are authorized to provide you the Form DS-1205 temporary license if you:
- Refused to provide a blood, breath or urine sample;
- Attempted the tests but could not perform and the officer determined that you refused;
- Exhibited a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or more;
- Exhibited a BAC of 0.04 or more if you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL); or
- Exhibited a BAC of 0.02 or more if you were under the age of 21 at the time of arrest.
If any of these scenarios occur, our attorneys know how to preserve your rights under the State of Georgia’s Administrative License Suspension System, but only if you contact our firm before the 30-Day period passes.
DUI License Suspension Hearings
If you file an appeal of the of the State’s intention to suspend your license, your case will be set for an Administrative License Suspension (ALS) Hearing. The Georgia Department of Driver’s Services only has to prove that, more likely than not, you were driving under the influence – a low standard for the State to meet. Nonetheless, a skilled attorney versed in the DUI laws of Georgia increases your chances of winning your case greatly. The arresting officer may not have had a valid reason for stopping your vehicle, for arresting you or you may have a legitimate reason why you could not perform certain tests requested.
Having a skilled DUI lawyer represent you at your ALS hearing is an invaluable asset. Additionally, ALS hearings are excellent opportunity to gather more facts about your DUI case by questioning the arresting officer under oath prior to your criminal trial, thus locking in his or her story.
Hire a skilled Norcross DUI attorney to represent you
Georgia Trial Attorneys knows how to preserve your rights at your ALS Hearing, but only if you contact our firm before the 30-Day period passes.
As a Georgia Trial Attorneys DUI client, you will receive professional, compassionate and aggressive representation backed by the support of an expert legal team who will take the time to understand the dynamics of, prepare and run every case as if we were the client. We pride ourselves on our responsiveness to our clients and make sure that every client is treated as an individual and never treated as another file. We welcome our clients and residents of Georgia to simply call us at 678-667-8965 for a free consultation and to answer questions you may have about your Administrative License Suspensions (ALS) Hearing.
Call us today for a free DUI consultation: 678-667-8965
If you’re facing a license suspension or DUI, we know how to preserve your rights and will vigorously defend your case.